Margaritaville United

Here’s what a day of baby-sitting will do to a man: I just spent 17 good minutes of my life watching highlights (?) of CONCACAF World Cup qualifying matches, including Jamaica’s 7-0 win over Bahamas and Guatemala’s 6-0 win over Saint Lucia. I’m all for the minnows having their God-given World Cup chance, but doesn’t it seem sort of cruel and unusual? Is this football, or target practice? (Strangely enough, the 2-2 draw between Honduras and, of all places, Puerto Rico, looked like it might have actually contained some decent play.)

ITEM: Guatemala did a kind of cool goal celebration, in which half the team ran to the touchline, sat down and imitated a rowing crew. Significance unknown. But how gauche is it to whip out elaborate post-goal festivities when you’re beating Saint Lucia?

ITEM: I now know where I’m going if my whole life ever collapses: Saint Lucia, to either coach or play for the national team.

ITEM: CONCACAF sucks. I think the USA and Mexico should pull a “double Australia”, secede and join up with the LatAms. Let Canada and Carlos Ruiz (who scored four against S. Lucia) have their fun.

About zachdundas

Freelance journalist. Author of The Renegade Sportsman (Riverhead Books). Thank you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Margaritaville United

  1. Zach Dundas says:

    Although, with respect to Saint Lucia, I must note that their top division does contain two great club names:BIG PLAYERS and ELITE CHALLENGERS. I think I’ll sign with Big Players when I head down there.

Leave a Reply

